When “Endless Blue” is a Little Too Real

Nail polish stain remover

Time commitment: 5 minutes
Cost: Free
Ease of activity: 8/10
“Re-Pin” Worthiness: 8/10

IMG_20140129_211613_253I’ve never been one for nail polish, but last year I found this great brand at Target called “Sinful Colors” that was cheap and lasted without chipping too much. Don’t worry about the title of the brand though; the nail polish has yet to be responsible for leading me down the path to unrighteousness.

I ended up buying eight colors and have since made painting my nails a regular activity. One of my favorite colors is a bright blue called “Endless Blue.” (Does someone actually get paid to come up with these names? Does this person get fulfillment out of his/her job? Is this what all the people who major in women’s studies end up doing? These are the questions that keep me up at night.)

Little did I know how true the polish was to its name. After wearing it for a week I used nail polish remover to take off the color. But *gasp* my nails were still blue.IMG_20140129_213304_540

In the past when this had happened I would just keep repainting my nails until they grew long enough where you couldn’t see the color anymore. However, Pinterest came to the rescue.

With some toothpaste and water I was able to remove the majority of the resilient color. I had to put my fingers under water, rub them with toothpaste, and let it soak for a few minutes, but overall it worked pretty well.

IMG_20140129_214749_312The worst part about this experience was rubbing toothpaste on my fingers. I did not much enjoy that feeling. However, it worked decently.

Takeaway: Random household products can be used for things other than their intended purpose. Check out Pinterest as many users are really good at finding and sharing them.

IMG_20140129_215034_973

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “When “Endless Blue” is a Little Too Real

  1. celinemurray says:

    Wow, what a great method! I sometimes have difficulty taking off nail polish, especially dark colors like purple. (Also Sinful Colors brand – go figure.) I’ll have to try that method next time. 🙂 I loved that you talked about the ridiculous names of nail polish. (No joke, I saw a dark red polish one time that was titled “I’m Not Really A Waitress.” O.o) Great post!

    • EmilyJosy says:

      Yeah, I didn’t think it would work, but it did! I recommend using a brand with whitening in it.
      That is a really funny name for a nail polish… There’s got to be some sort of story behind it.

Leave a Reply

