Stressed Out? Try Yoga.

School is stressful. I find myself with little sleep, a lot of neck tension and splitting headaches several times a week. I’ve always been a fan of yoga for a great stretch, but after reading an article from the Huffington Post, I’m going to take even more time out of my week to slow down and do a yoga session. The article points out that yoga helps boost your immune system, ease migraines and helps you sleep better, among numerous other benefits.

I took to Pinterest to find a great yoga tutorial. I found this awesome video.

It is part of playlist (click-through to watch it on Youtube, not just on this blog) and for someone who does yoga pretty frequently, I though this playlist was great. I was really relaxed by the end of the second video and feeling great. The first routine is only 5 minutes and mostly breathing exercises, so it’s easy to do between things. I usually take 30-45 minutes every few days to do a deep stretch routine, but this was a great addition to my repertoire.

If you find yourself stressing out this week, take a few minutes to relax and do some yoga! You’ll feel better, I promise.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Stressed Out? Try Yoga.

  1. karinahaack says:

    I’m totally new to yoga, and this made me think more seriously about starting to. Life in general is super stressful right now. Do you recommend this playlist for beginners? Where do you think I should start?

    • sjo423 says:

      I’d suggest taking to Youtube and searching “yoga for beginners.” There are loads of videos to chose from, so you’ll just need to find one you like. I tend to prefer videos designed for stretching and relaxation, but there are a lot to build strength and endurance, as well. It’ll take a little while to figure out what type you like, but it’s worth it when you find a few videos to do on a regular basis!

Leave a Reply

